Cookie Consent by Free Privacy Policy website

News and Events

MoCA 2.0 Certification Program Now Available

Las Vegas, January 6, 2014 --- 2014 CES The Multimedia over Coax Alliance (MoCA®) Certification Program for products implementing the MoCA 2.0 specification is now available to all members. 

Upon passage of certification, companies receive a certificate documenting and officially acknowledging that the capabilities and features of the submitted product have passed the required interoperability testing authorized by the Alliance.

The entire pay TV operator chain benefits from such a comprehensive test plan.
"With the completion of this tireless effort by our Certification Working Group members, we are open for business to begin testing MoCA 2.0.  We already have several manufacturers in line to begin their certifications,” said Charles Cerino, president, MoCA.  “Let the certifications begin!"

MoCA 2.0 Golden Nodes, for testing of interoperability, are available from both Broadcom and Entropic.

“The availability of the MoCA 2.0 certification test program and the corresponding golden nodes are important milestones for MoCA, enabling the rapid development and deployment of the technology globally,” said Matt Rhodes, Senior Vice President, Global Marketing, Entropic. “As a supplier of golden nodes for all MoCA certification programs, we are fully committed to ensuring that MoCA technology, and specifically MoCA 2.0, delivers a highly-efficient, affordable and reliable whole-home entertainment network.”

“The MoCA certification program for MoCA 2.0 products will enable manufacturers to verify their next generation of connected home technology products,” said Stephen Palm, Senior Technical Director, Broadcom and MoCA Certification Board Chair. “The MoCA 2.0 golden nodes enable a fast path to product certification with high-performance throughout the home for cable, satellite, xDSL, xPON and IP set-top box products.”

National Technical Systems, Inc. (NASDAQ: NTSC), based in Culver City, CA, is the exclusive certification testing facility for MoCA 2.0.

“We are happy to be continuing our long, collaborative relationship with MoCA as their certification test lab,” said Osman Sakr, CTO of NTS. “We look forward to assisting MoCA members in getting their products certified to the MoCA 2.0 standard and further expanding the MoCA ecosystem.”

About MoCA 2.0
MoCA 2.0 offers two performance modes of 400 Mbps and 800 Mbps net throughputs (MAC rate), respectively.

Performance alone, however, is not enough in a HD video environment. Reliability of packet delivery is also critical.  MoCA 2.0 supports packet error rates (PER) as low as one in 100 million with a nominal latency of 3.6ms.  In addition, standby and sleep modes are included in the specification to help with overall power management in the network.

About MoCA®
MoCA technology is the worldwide standard for home entertainment networking. It is the only such standard in use by all three pay TV segments—cable, satellite and IPTV/telco. MoCA technology is also used as an in-home backbone to extend Wi-Fi® connectivity.
The Alliance has certified 148 products and has 53 members worldwide.
Visit and for more information.